Book News: National Book Award Winner 2016

Our hearty congratulations to Congressman John Lewis, co-writer Andrew Aydin, and illustrator Nate Powell, recipients of the 2016 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature for March: Book Three. Their critically-acclaimed graphic novel series has charted the history of the Civil Rights Movement through the autobiographical voice of Lewis, one of the movement’s key leaders. This concluding installment in their trilogy begins with the bombing of the 16th Street Baptist Church, follows the Selma to Montgomery March, and ends with the 1965 Voting Rights Act. Congressman Lewis accepted the award last night in an emotional acceptance speech (see below). You can find all three volumes in our YA graphic novel section, or click on the titles below to request a copy.

March: Book One
March: Book Two
March: Book Three

News & Updates

  • September 21, 2022
    Teen De-Stress Day

    September 29, 3 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. in the Teen Space