Book News: Harvey Award Winners 2021

Named after legendary cartoonist and MAD Magazine creator Harvey Kurtzman, the “Harvey Awards” have been honoring the year’s best comics and graphic novels since 1988. This year’s awards were announced this month, and the YA graphic novel The Magic Fish by debut author/artist Trung Le Nguyen won in two major categories.

In Nguyen’s gentle tale about language, family, immigration, loss, and coming out, readers meet young Tien and his mother, an immigrant from Vietnam, who practice English together by reading fairy tales. The challenges of Tien and his mother are actually interwoven with three of these fairy tales, which are “read aloud” through the course of the text. This award tops many other accolades for Nguyen’s fairy tale reinvention (including a nomination for this year’s Maine North Star YA Award!).

Here are all the notable “Harvey” YA winners:

Book of the Year
The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

Best Children or Young Adult Book
The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

Best Adaptation from Comic/Graphic Novel Form
WandaVision by Disney+ (based on “The Avengers” from Marvel Comics)

Best Manga
Chainsaw Man by Tatsuki Fujimoto

News & Updates