2018 ALA Youth Media Award winners

Find the complete listing at http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2018/02/american-library-association-announces-2018-youth-media-award-winners





John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

Hello, Universe” written by Erin Entrada Kelly, is the 2018 Newbery Medal winner.

Three Newbery Honor Books also were named:

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut,” written by Derrick Barnes

Long Way Down,” written by Jason Reynolds

Piecing Me Together,” written by Renée Watson

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

Wolf in the Snow,” illustrated and written by Matthew Cordell is the 2018 Caldecott Medal winner.

Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named:

Big Cat, little cat,” illustrated and written by Elisha Cooper

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut,” illustrated by Gordon C. James, written by Derrick Barnes

A Different Pond,” illustrated by Thi Bui, written by Bao Phi

Grand Canyon,” illustrated and written by Jason Chin

News & Updates

  • November 16, 2023
    Starry Night

    December 16 from 4 p.m. – 7 p.m.

    Celebrate the seaso…